Changing of the Gear.

26 12 2009

Sitting down here, I’ve played a little more with the 500C (Film, not Diggie). I’ve realized how much more challenging the “Prime” lenses are to use after being spoiled with Zooms… I’m currently Packing the 17-35mm 2.8, 28-70mm AF-D 2.8D, 70-200mm 2.8 in my bag everyday.I’ve also started playing with my Prime 50 and 28 down here. They are both just superbly sharp. I think it’s time to make a change. Drop back a few decades in lens versatility, but keep with the newer technology available for Lenses.

I’ve taken a little time down here and listed the 28-70 and 70-200 for sale. I am thinking about making a shift with my remaining 35mm gear to almost all prime again. I’ll just carry my 28mm 2.8, 50mm 1.4 that I own currently and add a couple more to replace the 2 zooms I’m ditching. I am thinking of the Nikkor 135mm AF DC f/2D (a great portrait lens) and perhaps a fixed 85mm f/1.4.

Originally in school (Photojournalism Major) I needed the full gamut, with no gaps in Focal Length. At one point I had a range of 15-400mm through 6 lenses. Now, with the clientele I have and the shoots i’m booking, I think that having the consistency and ridiculous tack sharp images that only a Prime can offer, may in fact be the way to go for now. I’ll still keep the 17-35, as it’s surprisingly sharp and I do need something with a little flexibility for groups. I can always rent a zoomer, should the occasion call for it.

I’m listing my Nikkor 28-70mm AF-S 2.8D at $800, My 70-200mm 2.8 HSM (Sigma) at $750 and I’m also planning on ditching my D300 with Vertical Grip and 4 Batteries for $1200… If you’re interested, fire me an email, or leave a comment with some contact info.

Ryan.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

